Agricultural and Land Conservation (ALC) Committee

7:00 PM
Fourth Monday of each month
ABC Conference Room
George L. Gordon, Jr., Government Center
1300 Courthouse Road
Stafford, VA   22554

Members Officers Election Districts
Carlos Bratton Chairman Griffis-Widewater
John Howe Vice-Chairman Falmouth
Benjamin Rudasill   Aquia
Jeff Adams   Hartwood
Joanna Berger   Garrisonville
Chad Young   George Washington
Alandra Simmons   Rock Hill
Staff Support Position Department
Kathy Baker Acting Director/Program Administrator Planning and Zoning
Joe Fiorello Environmental Planner Public Works
Michael Keyes Appraiser Commissioner of Revenue


The Agricultural and Land Conservation (ALC) Committee is a body of seven citizens appointed by the Board of Supervisors. Each member represents an election district. The purpose of the Committee is to address the problems of sustainable growth, preservation of rural lands, and promotion and facilitation of agriculture, environmental integrity, land values, and taxation. 

Purchase of Development Rights (PDR) Program

The Committee works with the PDR program administrator to promote the PDR Program and review applications from landowners who apply to the program. The PDR Program enables the county to acquire conservation easements voluntarily offered by property owners to limit further residential development. 

The Planning and Zoning staff provides support to the Committee. 

Buy Fresh Buy Local

The Fredericksburg Area Buy Fresh Buy Local Chapter provides information on locally grown produce.

Sustainable and Urban Agriculture

Visit the Virginia State University (VSU) Small Farm Program for the Sustainable and Urban Agriculture course.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available 72 hours prior to the meeting. Minutes are available following approval.

NOTE:  Agendas & Minutes prior to year 2016 are housed in the County's Archive Center.