Planning Commission


4:30 PM
Second and fourth Wednesday of each month
Board of Supervisors Chambers
George L. Gordon, Jr., Government Center
1300 Courthouse Road
Stafford, VA   22554

live stream logo
*Only available during meeting. Video Archives can be
found on our Regional Web TV page.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available in the Agenda Center prior to the 
meetings and will be posted online by noon on Friday 
prior to each meeting.  Minutes are available following 

NOTE:  Agendas & Minutes prior to year 2016 are 
housed in the 
Archive Center.

Mobile Access Instructions

Public Hearings and Comments

The Planning Commission meetings will begin at 4:30 PM.  All interested individuals are invited to attend, including via electronic means, and to present comments online, in writing, or in person.  

Public comments may also be submitted online.  Please email your comments to:

Public Hearing Notice

March 24, 2021 Planning Commission Public Hearings

In order for the Planning Commission to read the comments before a meeting, all online comments must be submitted before the close of business the day before the public  meeting (i.e., Tuesday before the Wednesday PC meeting, at 4:30 PM).  All online comments will be added to the public record.

Members Officers Election Districts
Steven Apicella Chairman Falmouth
Darrell English   Hartwood
Barton Randall Vice Chairman Garrisonville
Albert Bain   George Washington
Kristen Barnes   Rock Hill
Dexter Cummings   Griffis-Widewater
Fillmore McPherson Secretary Aquia


The Planning Commission is a body of seven citizens appointed by the Board of Supervisors. Each Commissioner represents an election district. State Code requires that the Planning Commission review and make recommendations of the County's Comprehensive Plan, changes to the subdivision and zoning ordinances, rezonings, and conditional use permits. 

The Planning Commission has approval authority of preliminary subdivision plans, waivers of subdivision requirements, and requests for determination of compliance with the Comprehensive Plan. The subdivision ordinance allows the Planning Commission to have discretionary approval of any request for waivers of the subdivision ordinance requirements. 

Board Representatives

The Planning Commission also has a representative to serve an advisory function on the Technical Review Committee (TRC), Architectural Review Board (ARB), and Parks and Recreation Commission.