Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System (MS4) General Permit

The County is designated as a Phase II small MS4, according to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s MS4 Stormwater Permit Program. The County was issued a General Permit for Discharges of Stormwater by the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) on July 1, 2018 and will expire on June 30, 2023.

Components of the General Permit include program elements called minimum control measures (MCM) that, when executed, should result in a reduction of pollutants discharging into receiving waters.

The County is accountable for 6 (six) minimum control measures:

1) Public Education & Outreach on Stormwater Impacts
2) Public Involvement & Participation
3) Illicit Discharge Detection & Elimination (IDDE)
4) Construction Site Stormwater Runoff Control
5) Post-Construction Stormwater Development in New Development & Redevelopment
6) Pollution Prevention / Good Housekeeping for Municipal Operations

In order to effectively satisfy the MCM, the County developed the 2013-2018 MS4 Program Plan.

For questions regarding the General Permit for Discharges of Stormwater, the MS4 Program Plan, or to submit general comments, please email the Department of Public Works - Environmental Division.